Métis Nation of Alberta’s new Provincial Council hold inaugural meeting

Posted on:

October 19, 2018 (Edmonton, AB) The Métis Nation of Alberta’s (MNA) newly elected Provincial Council sat for their inaugural meeting Friday, October 19 at the MNA’s Provincial Head Office in Edmonton.

The Métis Nation of Alberta Government’s September 18 election saw several changes to its Provincial Council across all six regions. The 14 new Provincial Council members will be sworn in at an inauguration ceremony Saturday, October 20 at the River Cree Resort and Casino.

The newly elected officials are as follows:


Audrey Poitras

Vice President                     

Daniel Cardinal

Region 1                                   

President – James Cardinal

Vice President – Jason Ekeberg

Region 2 

President – Duane Zaraska

Vice President – Andrea Sandmaier

Region 3 

President – Lawrence Gervais

Vice President – Judy Gente

Region 4 

President – Tracy Friedel

Vice President – Gary Gagnon

Region 5 

President – Elmer Gullion

Vice President – Hilda Lambert

Region 6 

President – Carol Ridsdale

Vice President – Conrad DeLeeuw


– 30 –


For more information, please contact:

Rolando Inzunza
Director of Communications & Citizen Engagement
780-455-2200 ext. 395