

Métis Nation of Alberta General Election

Notice of Vote

By Notice of the Chief Electoral Officer on this day, June 30, 2023; a General Election for the Otipemisiwak Métis Government shall be held, with the final day of voting to be September 19, 2023

ELECTION DETAILS

Polling Date(s): September 13th – September 19th

Chief Electoral Officer: Del Graff

Positions to be elected:

• (1) Provincial President

- (1) Provincial Women's Representative
- (1) Provincial Youth Representative
- (22) Citizen's Representatives (one for each District)
- (5) District Captains, one for each of the following Districts
 - Rocky View Métis District,
 - Calgary Elbow Métis District,
 - St. Paul-Cold Lake Métis District,
 - Athabasca Métis District, and
 - Wabasca-Desmarais Métis District

Nomination Details:

- Nomination Packages will be available online and at the Office of the Chief Electoral
 Officer beginning July 4th, 2023. Please visit MetisElectionsAB.com and complete the
 online form or visit the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer to pick one up.
- All nomination papers must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. MST on July 30th (note that the
 Office of the Chief Electoral Officer will be open on the 29th and 30th of July to receive
 submissions).
- Nomination papers must be delivered in person or via mail to the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer in Edmonton, Alberta. Electronically submitted nomination papers will not be accepted.

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer:

12304 111 Ave NW Edmonton, Alberta T5M 2N4

Please refer to the Election Law for more details regarding the nomination process, including eligibility and reporting requirements.



VOTING DETAILS

In-Person Voting – Polling Voting Stations

There will be 41 polling locations across Alberta.

District	Polling Location(s)
1: Foothills Métis District	Lethbridge
1: Foothills Métis District	High River
1: Foothills Métis District	Pincher Creek
2: Medicine Hat Métis District	Medicine Hat
3: Red Deer Métis District	Red Deer
3: Red Deer Métis District	Rocky Mountain House
3: Red Deer Métis District	Sundre
4: Rocky View Métis District	Strathmore
5: Calgary Nose Hill Métis District	Calgary North
6: Calgary Elbow Métis District	Calgary Southeast
7: Jasper House Métis District	Edson
7: Jasper House Métis District	Hinton
7: Jasper House Métis District	Grande Cache
8: Lac St. Anne Métis District	Drayton Valley
8: Lac St. Anne Métis District	Whitecourt
8: Lac St. Anne Métis District	Barrhead
8: Lac St. Anne Métis District	Spruce Grove
9: Fort Edmonton Métis District	Edmonton North
10: Edmonton Whitemud Métis District	Edmonton South
11: St. Albert Métis District	Camrose
11: St. Albert Métis District	St. Albert
12: St. Paul-Cold Lake Métis District	Lloydminster
12: St. Paul-Cold Lake Métis District	Cold Lake
12: St. Paul-Cold Lake Métis District	St. Paul
12: St. Paul-Cold Lake Métis District	Vegreville
12: St. Paul-Cold Lake Métis District	Bonnyville
13: Grande Prairie Métis District	Grande Prairie



13: Grande Prairie Métis District	Valleyview
14: Peace River Métis District	Peace River
17: Fort McMurray Métis District	Fort McMurray
18: Conklin Métis District	Conklin
19: Lac La Biche Métis District	Lac La Biche
20: Athabasca Métis District	Athabasca
21: Lesser Slave Lake Métis District	Slave Lake
21: Lesser Slave Lake Métis District	High Prairie
22: Wabasca-Desmarais Métis District	Wabasca
14: Peace River Métis District	Fairview
14: Peace River Métis District	Manning
15: Fort Vermilion Métis District	Fort Vermilion
15: Fort Vermilion Métis District	High Level
16: Fort Chipewyan Métis District	Fort Chipewyan

^{*} The District names listed here are interim proposals. Final District names will be determined in consultation with the Citizens of each District.

Note: The exact dates and addresses for each polling location are to be determined, along with any additional locations that may be deemed necessary by the Métis Nation of Alberta and approved by the Chief Electoral Officer. All polling station hours will operate from **8am** to **8pm**.

Mail-in Voting

- A mail-in ballot package will be sent via mail to each Citizen that is eligible to vote.
- Mail-in ballot packages will be sent to the address on file with the MNA.
- If a mail-in ballot is not received, or a replacement mail-in ballot package is required, Citizens should make this request no later than 10 days prior to the final day of the vote.

Electronic Voting

 Electronic voting will be open for the entire duration of the voting period which is from September 13th to September 19th, 2023.

Voter Support and Assistance

 Voter support and assistance will be made available for Citizens during the voting period. Citizens requiring support and/or assistance should contact <u>Elections@metis.org</u>



Name/Mailing Address Opt-Out

- The list of voters will be distributed to each candidate. Note that a candidate for Citizens' Representative or District Captain is entitled to receive a list of only the voters that are ordinarily resident in the District in which the candidate is running.
- Citizens may opt-out of having their name and/or mailing address included on the list of voters that will be circulated to candidates.
 - o To opt-out, please email: Elections@metis.org

Contact Information

Métis Nation of Alberta

- Office of the Chief Electoral Officer: 12304 111 Ave NW Edmonton, Alberta T5M 2N4
- For general inquiries please reach out to: Elections@metis.org

programme of the second	06/30/2023
Del Graff Chief Electoral Officer	Date