

Otipemisiwak Métis Government 2024 St. Paul-Cold Lake Election

Public Notice

By Notice of the Chief Electoral Officer on this day, **October 3, 2024**; the candidates and polling locations in the **2024 St. Paul-Cold Lake Métis District Election** for the Otipemisiwak Métis Government have been determined in accordance with Part V of the Otipemisiwak Métis Government Elections and Referenda Act (the Election Law).

CANDIDATE DETAILS

DECLARATION OF CERTIFIED CANDIDATES

Notice is hereby given that the following individuals have successfully submitted their nomination packages and have satisfied the requirements set out in the Election Law. As such, the Chief Electoral Officer has deemed the following individuals as candidates for District Councillor in the 2024 St. Paul-Cold Lake Métis District Election for the Otipemisiwak Métis Government.

[ACCLAIMED] Election by Acclamation: Where the Chief Electoral Officer accepted only one candidate nomination for an elected office within the nomination period, pursuant to Section 44 of the Election Law, the certified candidate is to be elected to their respective office.

DISTRICT COUNCILLOR - ST. PAUL - 1 position

- Orron Boire
- Roy Missal
- Tanya Shaw *
- Tammy Thompson

*Candidate provided declaration to withdraw candidacy. Will not appear on ballot.

DISTRICT COUNCILLOR - LLOYDMINSTER - 1 position

- Angela Field
- Rhonda Hodgson

DISTRICT COUNCILLOR - COLD LAKE - 1 position

- Calvin Boire
- Sandra Evans

DISTRICT COUNCILLOR - BONNYVILLE - 1 position

Carrie Goldsmith [ACCLAIMED]



<u>DISTRICT COUNCILLOR – FISHING LAKE MÉTIS SETTLEMENT/ ELIZABETH MÉTIS SETTLEMENT</u> – 1 position

No candidate following Extended Nomination Period

YOUTH COUNCILLOR-ST. PAUL-COLD LAKE MÉTIS DISTRICT – 1 position

No candidate following Extended Nomination Period

VOTING DETAILS

IN-PERSON VOTING

There will be 4 Poll Locations located in the following communities:

(November 3, 4, and 5)

• Cold Lake - Cold Lake Native Friendship Center - 5015 55 Street, Cold Lake, AB. T9M 1P4 Poll Station Hours: 8am – 8pm

*Replacing Bonnyville

(November 5, 2024)

• **Lloydminster – Holiday Inn & Suites Lloydminster** - 5612 44 Street, Lloydminster, AB T9V 0B6 Poll Station Hours: 8am – 8pm

• **St. Paul – Canalta** - 5008 43rd Street, St. Paul, AB T0A 3A2 Poll Station Hours: 8am – 8pm

• Vegreville Social Centre Hall - 4802 47 Avenue, Vegreville AB T9C 1K8 Poll Station Hours: 8am – 8pm

Pursuant to the Election Law, Voters must be Citizens of the Métis Nation within Alberta, must be sixteen (16) years of age or older before the closing of voting (November 5, 2024), and must have been ordinarily resident in the St. Paul-Cold Lake Métis District (District #12) for at least 90 days before the close of voting to be entitled to vote in this election.

MAIL-IN VOTING

- A mail-in ballot package will be sent via mail on October 8, 2024, to each Citizen who is eligible to vote.
- Mail-in ballot packages will be sent to the address on file with the Otipemisiwak Métis Government.
- If a mail-in ballot is not received or a replacement mail-in ballot package is required, Citizens should make a request for their replacement mail-in ballot package no later than 14 days prior to the final day of the vote. Requests for replacement mail-in ballot packages may be made to the Office of the Chief Electoral by email or by phone.



ELECTRONIC VOTING

- Electronic voting will be open for the entire duration of the voting period (October 29 November 5, 2024).
- Registration for electronic voting will be made available on October 19, 2024.

EXTENDED NOMINATION PERIOD RESULTS

Following the conclusion of the Extended Nomination period, the Chief Electoral Officer has determined that the following offices have no certified candidates.

- Youth Councillor St. Paul-Cold Lake Métis District
- District Councillor Fishing Lake Métis Settlement/ Elizabeth Métis Settlement

As a result, the Chief Electoral Officer must open nominations for the St-Paul-Cold Lake Métis District to hold a by-election for a Youth Councillor position and a District Councillor position each for the Bonnyville area and Fishing Lake Métis Settlement/ Elizabeth Métis Settlement.

Once a date is set for the by-election, the Chief Electoral Officer will issue a Public Notice indicating the date on which interested candidates may submit a nomination package.

Please refer to the Election Law for more details regarding the nomination process, including eligibility and reporting requirements.

Contact Information

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer: 12304 111 Ave NW Edmonton, Alberta T5M 2N4

For general inquiries please reach out to: Elections@metis.org or call 1-877-576-4250

half -	October 3, 2024	
Del Graff	Date	
Chief Electoral Officer		
Métis Nation of Alberta		