Métis Nation of Alberta and Canada to sign landmark agreement on self-government

Posted on:

June 26, 2019

Click hereto read the agreement, media release, and FAQs.

On June 27th at 10:00 a.m. in Ottawa, Métis Nation of Alberta (MNA) President Audrey Poitras, MNA Vice President Dan Cardinal and the Honourable Carolyn Bennett, Canada’s Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations will sign the first ever self-government agreement between the Government of Canada and a Métis government.

They will be joined by the MNA Provincial Council as well as Métis leaders, youth, and Elders from Ontario, Saskatchewan, and Alberta.  The Métis Nation of Ontario and the Métis Nation-Saskatchewan will also be signing similar self-government agreements with Minister Bennett at the event.

There will be photo opportunities with all Métis leaders and Minister Bennett. Following the signing, Audrey Poitras and Dan Cardinal will be available for interviews.

Date:June 27, 2019
10:00 a.m. (EDT)
Where:Wellington Building (Room 425)
180 Wellington St., Ottawa, Ontario

Amy Dillon
Manager, Communications & Citizen Engagement
Métis Nation of Alberta
780-455-2200 Ext. 309

The signing will be live streamed on Facebook at 8:00AM MDT. Tune in to facebook.com/ABMetis/ to see it.